Skip to main content

South Dakota Master Gardener Association Earl Dailey Memorial Endowment Grants

Updated January 26, 2022

Aimee Ladonski

SDSU Extension Volunteer Development Field Specialist and State Master Gardener Coordinator

The South Dakota Master Gardener Board is excited to open the South Dakota Master Gardeners Association Earl Dailey Memorial Endowment Grant application process for 2022! The purpose of these grants is to promote gardening education and experiences.

There are two types of grants available: Project Grant and Professional Improvement Grant. Application forms and criteria for both are provided below.

Available Funds: The SDMG Board has allocated a total of $2,500 for grant awards this year.

Criteria: The criteria provided in the attachment below will be used to evaluate each application on how it supports or promotes gardening education and experiences.  The questions in the application will target these criteria.

Active Status: Applications must be submitted by an Active Master Gardener as defined in the SDSU Extension Master Gardener Program Policy Guide. Applicants must have reported the minimum qualifying volunteer hours and continuing education hours in 2021 (10 volunteer hours and 5 continuing education hours) using the Volunteer Reporting System. Active status will be verified by SDSU Extension staff.

Interns: Interns are not eligible to apply for Professional Improvement grants. While interns may not apply for Project grants themselves, they are encouraged to partner with an Active Master Gardener to submit applications.

Due Date: Applications for funding consideration must be sent on or before March 31, 2022 to No late submissions will be accepted.

If you have questions about completing the application forms, contact us at or call Cindy Jungman at 605-280-0550.

Thank you and we look forward to receiving your applications!

Committee Members
Cindy Jungman, SDMG President
Ruth Beck, Pierre
Joann Donley, Groton
Cathy Frederickson, Flandreau
Jack French, Spearfish
Dan Hunhoff, Yankton
Kathy Tyler, Big Stone City
John Hauge, Deadwood (SDMG Treasurer)