Skip to main content

South Dakota 4-H Recognizes Volunteers During 2019 State Fair

BROOKINGS, S.D. - Individuals who have made significant contributions to South Dakota 4-H will be inducted into the South Dakota 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame on Sunday, Sept. 1, during the 2019 South Dakota State Fair in Huron. In addition, six individuals will be inducted into the 4-H Shooting Sports Volunteer Hall of Fame. 

The 2019 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame inductees are Mary Williams of Wall, Diana Jons of Colome, Evelyn Werkmeister of Armour, Joy Braun of Mellette and the late James Wenzlaff of Brandon. The inductees into the 2019 4-H Shooting Sports Volunteer Hall of Fame are Dale Foiles of Raymond, Doug Kittelson of Hayti, Dean Balsiger of Sioux City, Bruce Eldridge of Chamberlain, Mark Rowan of Pierre and Mike Kraft of Britton.

“South Dakota 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame inductees are individuals who model the impact that a caring adult can have in the life of a child through the 4-H program. We are sincerely appreciative of their contributions to 4-H and this recognition is one small way to say thank you.”

— Karla Trautman, director of SDSU Extension

A ceremony will be held in the Nordby Exhibit Hall (1060 3rd St. SW, Huron, S.D. 57350) at the South Dakota State Fair following the Performing Arts Troup performance at approximately 4:30 p.m. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend the ceremony.

The South Dakota 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame was established in 2002 as part of the 100th birthday celebration of 4-H. 

About South Dakota 4-H

SDSU Extension's 4-H Youth Development Program is a partnership of federal (USDA), state (land-grant university) and county resources through youth outreach activities of SDSU Extension. Youth learn and experience leadership, health and wellness, and science and agriculture through a network of professional staff and volunteers reaching more than 9,000 enrolled members with yearly programming efforts to an additional 35,000 youth participants.