Skip to main content

SDSU Extension Hosts 2018 Nitrate Quick Test Training

BROOKINGS, S.D. - SDSU Extension will be hosting Nitrate Quick Test Recertification and New Certification Training throughout June.

"To ensure the safety of forages, nitrate testing is a good safety precaution," said Karla Hernandez, former SDSU Extension Forages Field Specialist.

Forage producers who were not trained to perform the Nitrate Quick Test in 2017, need to attend a Nitrate Quick Test New Certification Trainings. The trainings will last one hour. Those trained in 2017, can attend one of the recertification sessions.

Both new certification and recertification will be offered twice.

Training details

The trainings will be held June 4 and 5, 2018 across the state at SDSU Extension Regional Centers via DDN system.

June 4, 2018:

  • One-hour Recertification class will begin at 1 PM (MDT) and 2 PM (CDT).
  • One-hour Certification class will begin at 2 PM (MDT) and 3 PM (CDT).

June 5, 2018:

  • One-hour Recertification class will begin at 1 PM (MDT) and 2 PM (CDT).
  • One-hour Certification class will begin at 2 PM (MDT) and 3 PM (CDT).

Pre-register for the trainings by May 31, 2018 to ensure each location has adequate supplies. Registration costs cover the supplies needed to do the testing, as well as the test solution. Please, notice that recertification is required on an annual basis.

The New Certification Training is $35 and the recertification is $20. To register, call 605.882.5140 or email.

Training Locations

SDSU Extension Aberdeen Regional Center
13 Second Ave., SE, Aberdeen, SD 57401
Office: 605.626.2870

SDSU Extension Lemmon Regional Center
408 Eighth St. West, Lemmon, SD 57638
Office: 605.374.4177
 
SDSU Extension Mitchell Regional Center
1800 E. Spruce St., Mitchell, SD 57301
Office: 605.995.7378
 
SDSU Extension Pierre Regional Center
412 W. Missouri Ave., Pierre, SD 57501
Office: 605.773.8120
 
SDSU West River Ag Center (WRAC)
1905 Plaza Blvd., Rapid. City SD 57702
Office: 605.394.2236
 
SDSU Extension Sioux Falls Regional Center (Location is available only for June 4th)
2001 E. Eight St., Sioux Falls, SD 57103
Office: 605/.782.3290
 
SDSU Extension Watertown Regional Center
1910 W. Kemp Ave., Watertown, SD 57201
Office: 605.882.5140
 
SDSU Extension Winner Regional Extension Center
325 S. Monroe St., PO Box 270, Winner, SD 57580
Office: 605.842.1267