Skip to main content
Feb 03

February Community Virtual Book Read

Thursday, February 3 - Thursday, February 17

In February 2022, the SDSU Extension Community Vitality team will be bringing South Dakotans together virtually for a community book read. After three widely popular book reads with much discussion and debate, the organization will be offering a fourth statewide book read beginning February 3, 2022, with a group discussion of “Rural Voices: 15 Authors Challenge Assumptions About Small-Town America” by Norah Shalaway Carpenter.

The book read will be held Thursday evenings on February 3, 10, and 17, starting at 7:00 p.m. CST (6:00 p.m. MST), with facilitated discussions taking place over an hour of interaction.

“Rural Voices: 15 Authors Challenge Assumptions About Small-Town America” by Norah Shalaway Carpenter, is a collection of short stories, poetry, graphic short stories, and personal essays with anecdotes from the authors' real lives. The book contains the works of fifteen extraordinary authors exploring the challenges, beauty, and nuances of growing up in rural America.

Schedule

  • Feb. 3: 7:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m. CDT / 6:00-7:00 p.m. MT
  • Feb. 10: 7:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m. CDT / 6:00-7:00 p.m. MT
  • Feb. 17: 7:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m. CDT/ 6:00-7:00 p.m. MT

Registration

There is no registration fee; participants only need to purchase the book in advance of the start date. There will be a cap to the number of participants, with a plan to offer another book read in the spring.

To register, visit the SDSU Extension Community Book Read event page or contact Kari O’Neill, SDSU Extension Community Vitality Program Manager; Peggy Schlechter, SDSU Extension Community Vitality Field Specialist; or Leigh Neys, SDSU Community Vitality Field Specialist.